Infinite variations on a form


Google recently released its forms application, and I must confess that I’m obsessed. I spend an inordinate amount of time thinking about what all I can do with forms: grading and testing and quizzing and polls and information collection and books-read-this-month and surveys and signups. . . . It goes on and on until I fear my head may split. Finally, I put fingertip to keyboard and came up with a simple quiz on rhetoric (feel free to take it).

Here is the easiest way to create a form. Open a new spreadsheet in Google docs, and give it a title. Click on the Share button in the upper right of the screen. Next, click in the to fill out a form bubble. Click on Start editing your form. You can choose to send your form to email recipients, but I prefer the option for it to be viewed and answered online.

Setting up a form such as this rhetoric quiz is simplicity itself. You fill in a question (which Google calls a ‘question title’ for some reason). You may provide instruction for answering the question, such as: “Answer in a full sentence.” Then you click on Add a question and repeat. When you’ve completed your quiz, click on Save, and Google docs automatically creates a spreadsheet for you, where the answers will be collected. Find more information at the Official Google Docs Blog.

At this point, I place a link to the quiz at my website and wait for the answers to come in. Note: don’t forget to create a question asking for the student’s name, and another for class period, if appropriate.

I call this particular quiz a ‘feeler quiz,’ in which I can sort of ‘feel out’ whether or not students understood the information from a previous lesson, or if the material needs a further going over. Hmmmm. The latter, I think!

1 Comment

  1. April 22, 2008 at 10:40 am

    […] whose primary utility is to gather information into one place. Without paper. I’ve been yammering on about forms for awhile now, but don’t just take my word for it. Read what a very busy and most grateful […]


Leave a Reply

