FORMing rubrics

Prior to my Education 2.0 thinking, I used paper rubrics to assess my students’ essays. I made large numbers of copies of my rubric, and filled each one out upon completion of marking and grading the essay. The rubrics were given to the students when I returned their essays.

I recorded the final grade points from the rubrics, but not the breakdown. I could only hope the students kept the copies of their rubrics, and maybe even compared them to subsequent essay rubrics in order to assess progress in each area. While rubrics make it easier for instructors to provide a more detailed explanation of a final grade for an essay, it is difficult to assess progress from essay to essay beyond the final grades of each. Does grammar continue to cause a particular student problems? Should I spend more class time discussing essay structure?

With my Education 2.0 mindset, I’ve tried to resolve these dilemmas using the various tools at my disposal. Nevertheless, I’m not looking for more work for myself, so the implementation has to also help streamline my workload.

Here’s what I came up with. I created a form through the Google doc’s application as a rubric template for me to fill out, the results of which will be collected in a spreadsheet. Google forms makes it easy to mix-and-match the type of questions, so your forms will accept different types of input. When choosing the type of input for the rubric criteria, select checklist. In order to fill in the points earned, select text. Now, I don’t want to make a separate form for each one of my students, so what I did was to copy the spreadsheet, renaming each one with a different student’s name. For each one, I click the Share tab, and tell it to fill out a form, and it creates a new form for me, automatically. When I’m ready to fill out a rubric for a student, I bring up his or her spreadsheet from my document list and click on ‘go to live form‘ at the top of the sheet.

After I’ve ‘filled in’ a student’s rubric, the output will look like this. Google allows me to send a copy of this page to the student through email. Now both the student and I have a copy of the rubric and, at a glance, we can both see the student’s writing strengths and weaknesses. Each time I assess another of the student’s essays, the rubric breakdown is added to the same spreadsheet, allowing the student and me to assess progress over time. It’s all in one place, and it’s working for both of us.

More articles on Google forms:

Infinite variations on a form

quiz on friday!

input facilitates output

Leave a Reply

